2018.09.26 19.30

Grand Hall

Izabella Simon & Dénes Várjon

The Piano Twice

Izabella Simon & Dénes Várjon

Six Pieces for Pedal Piano, Op. 56 (Debussy arrangement)
Great Fugue, Op. 134
Symphony No. 1 (arrangement for piano four hands by Bruno Walter)
Izabella Simon, Dénes Várjon (piano)

Perfect harmony. This is how the play of Izabella Simon and Dénes Várjon comes across to audiences. Through their sensitive interpretations, the artist couple represent that musical concept placing full emphasis on the power of chamber music to shape people and communities, the bases for which they received from musicians such as György Kurtág, Ferenc Rados, András Schiff and Sándor Végh. This recital by Izabella Simon and Dénes Várjon opens with the six pieces for pedal piano written by Schumann, which the composer and his wife put together in the course of combined counterpoint studies for the unusual instrument developed for practicing organ works. Later on, Debussy prepared an arrangement allowing the work to be performed in concert halls in double piano form. Brahms discovered the St. Anthony chorale in a Haydn manuscript long thought to have been lost (and the authenticity of which has been much disputed ever since), based on which he composed the Haydn variations frequently performed in both orchestral and double piano versions. Then there is a real curiosity in this concert with Mahler’s Symphony No. 1 in the four-hand arrangement by Bruno Walter who had a close personal relationship with the composer. It evokes the orchestral parts and reveals a new side to the work.

Organizer: Liszt Academy Concert Centre

Tickets: HUF 1 400, 2 100, 3 500, 4 900, 5 600