2017.04.02 19.30

Grand Hall

Rácz Zoltán & his Guests

Here and Now

Rácz Zoltán & his Guests

Sonata for two Pianos and Percussion, BB 115
George Crumb:
Makrokosmos III – Music for a Summer Evening
József Balog, Zoltán Fejérvári (piano) Zoltán Rácz, Aurél Holló (percussion)

American George Crumb penned his Makrokosmos piano series organized in four books between 1972-1979. The title is not only a tribute to the memory of Bartók who wrote Mikrokosmos, but he followed Bartók when shaping the third book in the series as well, making it for two pianos and percussion. The Luciano Berio ballet music for marimba, vibraphone and two pianos dates from the same period. The premiere of Linea (dedicated to choreographer Felix Blaska) took place at a dance performance but thereafter it more often featured as a concert work. At the time of composing the Sonata Bartók said: “Everything given by Nature is extraordinarily complicated, everything machine-like is extremely simple. Occasionally it is true to say that ‘the simplest of tools’ become beautifully complex if they enter into the service of most natural manifestations.” On hearing Linea one can easily imagine that Berio fashioned the delicate structure of his composition bearing in mind these words of Bartók.

Organizer: Liszt Academy Concert Centre

Tickets: HUF 1 200, 1 700, 2 800, 3 900