Our task is to form veritable talents who possess the necessary gifts to become masters, without attending to the ungifted mediocrity.

Liszt to Giovanni Sgambati

10 October 2018, 19.30-22.00

Grand Hall


Beethoven: Fantasia in G minor, Op. 77
Brahms: Four Piano Pieces, Op. 119
Schumann: Kreisleriana, Op. 16


Schubert: Piano Sonata No. 20 in A major, D. 959


László Borbély (piano)

It is symbolic that László Borbély, one of the most promising figures on the young Hungarian pianist scene, opens his solo recital with a musical rarity, a Beethoven opus capturing perhaps one of the maestro’s finest improvizations. The evening’s programme may also be considered a sampler of 19th-century piano music from various genres, since from the period between the Fantasia, which dates from the early 1800s, and the final piano works created by Brahms in the 1890s there is the opportunity to hear Schumann’s similarly fantasia-like cycle plus a late sonata by Schubert that, as with his 9th Symphony, is of heavenly length and is most uplifting. The progressive László Borbély, who boasts an incredibly wide repertoire, always devotes enormous attention to the pairing of works, and this recital is no exception: hearing the music of these four pianist composers places their remarkable compositions in a new light; moreover, correlations that have remained hidden until now are also revealed.

Presented by

Liszt Academy Concert Centre


HUF 1 200, 1 700, 2 800, 3 900