Technique should create itself from spirit not from mechanics.

Franz Liszt to Lina Raman
Pinchas Steinberg & Liszt Academy Symphony Orchestra

14 November 2019, 19.30-21.30

Grand Hall

Masters of the Orchestra

Pinchas Steinberg & Liszt Academy Symphony Orchestra Presented by Liszt Academy

ZAK 144

Liszt: Les Préludes – symphonic poem
Chopin: Piano Concerto No. 2 in F minor, Op. 21
Dvořák: Symphony No. 9 in E minor, Op. 95 (‘From the New World’)

János Balázs (piano)
Liszt Academy Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Pinchas Steinberg

Liszt Academy – called Royal National Hungarian Academy of Music at that time – was founded 144 years ago, in November 1875. The orchestra formed by instrumental students of the Academy welcomes this anniversary with a celebratory concert. Kabalevsky’s work was inspired by Romain Rolland’s 1919 novel, Colas Breugnon, on a 16th century Burgundian reneissance ’master-craftsman’ and artist of life. In the 1930s Kabalevsky composed an opera in three acts based on the novel, its overture is to be the opening act of the concert.

Chopin was a hardly twenty-year-old youngster when his Piano Concerto No. 2 in F minor was premiered. This evening the solo is played by Argentinian Chopin-specialist Ingrid Fliter.

After the break comes Dvořák’s most popular symphony ’From the New World’  by the Liszt Academy Symphony Orchestra conducted by Pinchas Steinberg, principal conductor of the Budapest Philharmonic Orchestra.



Presented by

Liszt Academy Concert Centre


HUF 1 200, 1 700, 2 800, 3 900