Our task is to form veritable talents who possess the necessary gifts to become masters, without attending to the ungifted mediocrity.

Liszt to Giovanni Sgambati
Hungarian Radio Symphony Orchestra

26 November 2019, 19.30-22.00

Grand Hall

Hungarian Radio Symphony Orchestra

Kodály: Variations on a Hungarian Folksong ‘Felszállott a páva’ (‘The Peacock’)
Stravinsky: The Firebird – Suite
Alex Nante: Flute Concerto (world premiere)
R. Strauss: Till Eulenspiegel's Merry Pranks, Op. 28

Camilla Hoitenga (flute)
Hungarian Radio Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Su-Han Yang

In 2018-19, young Taiwanese musician Su-Han Yang took part in the conductor mentoring programme run by the Péter Eötvös Contemporary Music Foundation. He graduated from the Hanns Eisler College, Berlin, and currently lives in the German capital. In 2015, he studied at the Riccardo Muti Opera Academy, and in 2017 he won the 10th International Grzegorz Fitelberg Competition for Conductors. The programme of his Budapest concert is a true test of conductor aptitude and virtuosity because he is also conducting a flute concerto the composer of which, a 27-year-old Argentinian, he met at last year’s Eötvös Foundation programme. Alex Nante was born in Buenos Aires and is considered one of the most influential figures of his generation. He has lived in Paris since 2014 and completed his musicology studies here. His works have won several prizes including the French Les Inouïes Gold Medal for Four Pieces for Flute and Piano (2015). Among his orchestral works, Fulgor (South Korea, 2010), Tres Sueños Lúcidosa (Argentina, 2013) and Île de Créations (France, 2015) each picked up first prizes.


Presented by

Hungarian Radio Art Groups


HUF 2 000, 3 000, 4 000, 5 000