For six years, I received the most significant part of my formal musical education at the Liszt Academy.

Sir Georg Solti
Heinz Holliger & Concerto Budapest

15 February 2020, 19.30-22.00

Grand Hall

Heinz Holliger & Concerto Budapest

Performer change

Veress: Divertimento
Mendelssohn: Piano concerto No. 1 in G minor, Op. 25
Fülöp Ránki (piano)
Weber: Konzertstück in F minor for Piano and Orchestra, Op. 79
Tamás Érdi (piano)
Schumann: Symphony No. 2 in C major, Op. 61

Concerto Budapest
Conductor: Heinz Holliger

“He was an extremely introverted, secretive person [...] he lived the life of a hermit, and he didn’t like to talk. [...] Of course, he spoke to me about his own works more than to others because we were in a very close relationship.” This is how Heinz Holliger (who although in his eightieth year still works tirelessly) remembered Hungarian-born Sándor Veress, who spent the second half of his life in Switzerland and whose works are propagated by the Swiss artist. Holliger opens the concert with a Veress work: the six-movement chamber orchestral Divertimento was composed when the Hungarian was around 30. ▪ Fülöp Ránki and Tamás Érdi on this occasion evoke two masters of the first generation of German Romanticism, Mendelssohn and Weber. ▪ “For days my head has been in a whirl of drums and trumpets (trombe in C). I don’t know what will come of it.” This is from a letter written by Schumann in 1845, and we can discern this motif in the fanfares of the first movement of Symphony No. 2, written around this time. The letter was addressed to Mendelssohn, and just a year later he conducted the world première of this symphony, designed with self-healing in mind, in Leipzig.




Dear Audience! Due to illness of Dénes Várjon, Fülöp Ránki and Tamás Érdi pianists will play on the concert. Thank you for your kind understanding!

Presented by

Concerto Budapest


HUF 2 400, 3 500, 4 300, 5 200, 6 400, 7 900