Taste is a negative thing. Genius affirms and always affirms.

Franz Liszt
Hungarian Radio Symphony Orchestra

11 May 2020, 19.30-22.00

Grand Hall

Hungarian Radio Symphony Orchestra


Smetana: Má vlast – 4. Z českých luhů a hájů (From Bohemia's woods and fields)
Janáček: Taras Bulba
Janáček: Jenůfa – Jenůfa'a Aria and Final Scene
Smetana: Má vlast – 3. Šárka
Janáček: Sinfonietta

Zsuzsanna Ádám, István Kovácsházi (vocals)
Hungarian Radio Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: János Kovács

The Czech programme conducted by János Kovács primarily comprises symphonic poems. Originally, Janáček planned to give his remarkably orchestrated Sinfonietta such expressive movement titles as “The Mansion” and “The Monastery”; his orchestral rhapsody Taras Bulba was inspired by a Gogol novel. At this recital, two ‘chapters’ of Smetana’s grandiose series comprising six symphonic poems (My Homeland) are performed. ▪ At the centre of the concert there is an opera scene which is exceptional not only in the opera oeuvre of Janáček: one rarely comes across such an upliing moment in the entire genre. Zsuzsanna Ádám, award winner at the third Éva Marton International Singing Competition, received the invitation to perform as the special prize of the Hungarian Radio Music Ensembles.




Presented by

Hungarian Radio Art Groups


HUF 2 000, 3 000, 4 000, 5 000