The least important are not forbidden to dream of great things, and even modestly to aim at them, according to the measure of their abilities.

Liszt to Antal Augusz
Hungarian Radio Symphony Orchestra

27 October 2021, 19.30-22.00

Grand Hall

Hungarian Radio Symphony Orchestra


Bartók: Dance Suite, BB 86a
Bartók: Scherzo for Piano and Orchestra, BB 35
R. Strauss: Burleske for Piano and Orchestra
R. Strauss: Don Juan – symphonic poem, Op. 20

Zoltán Fejérvári (piano)
Hungarian Radio Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Riccardo Frizza

Bartók’s youthful piano concerto movement – perhaps not independently of Strauss’s youthful work, which employed a similar setup – was originally to have had the title Burlesque. Later on, Bartók planned to introduce and publish it under the name Scherzo, although both the premiere (Bartók refused to allow the ensemble to perform the work because they had not sufficiently rehearsed it) and the publication of the work never happened. The composer himself appears to have wanted to forget the whole piece. The score of the movement only came to light more than 50 years later, and it is now appears evident that from among the early Bartók compositions, the Scherzo displays many progressive elements.



Presented by

Hungarian Radio Art Groups


HUF 3 500, 4 000, 5 000, 6 000

Similar events: