Our task is to form veritable talents who possess the necessary gifts to become masters, without attending to the ungifted mediocrity.

Liszt to Giovanni Sgambati
MÁV Symphony Orchestra

29 October 2021, 19.00-21.30

Grand Hall

MÁV Symphony Orchestra

Khachaturian: Masquerade – suite
Anton Rubinstein: Piano Concert No. 4 in D minor, Op.70
Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 4 in F minor, Op. 36

Schaghajegh Nosrati (piano)
MÁV Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Róbert Farkas

Not only does this concert have Tchaikovsky’s fourth symphony on the programme, but also the largely unknown Rubinstein piano concerto. Anton Rubinstein (1829–1894) travelled the world as a pianist and conductor, while he also enjoyed considerable success as a teacher, and his works served as guidelines for Tchaikovsky and Rachmaninov. This event features the fourth concerto (1864), considered the greatest of the five concertos for piano he wrote. Enthusiasts called it ‘the first Russian piano concerto’. Soloist Schaghajegh Nosrati was born in Germany, she completed her studies there and this is where her glittering career took off. Aram Khachaturian was an Armenian composer whose career unfolded during the era of Soviet rule. His music finely blends the traditions and oriental tones of his own people with elements of Russian and European music. The suite featuring at this concert is compiled from the best parts of his ballet, Masquerade.




Presented by

MÁV Symphony Orchestra


HUF 4 500, 5 000, 5 500

Similar events:

2021. 10. 1

Szenthelyi 70

Concert on World Music Day

Grand Hall

Sold out