Technique should create itself from spirit not from mechanics.

Franz Liszt to Lina Raman
MÁV Symphony Orchestra

21 January 2019, 19.00-21.30

Grand Hall

MÁV Symphony Orchestra Presented by Liszt Academy

Hungarian Evening

Liszt: Les Préludes – symphonic poem
Doráti: Cello Concerto
Kodály: Theatre Overture
Kodály: Dances of Marosszék

Miklós Perényi (cello)
MÁV Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Gábor Takács-Nagy

Like all Hungarian conductors who put together a programme solely comprising works by Hungarian composers, Gábor Takács-Nagy also provides a review of the history of Hungarian symphonic music. The concert starts with Ferenc Liszt’s Les Préludes, first performed in Weimar in 1854. Works by Zoltán Kodály include a rarity in Theatre Overture, as well as the popular Marosszék Dances. Between Liszt and Kodály, we are witnesses to a real find in the newly discovered Cello Concerto by world-famous conductor Antal Doráti. Doráti was in his mid-teens when he studied composition at the Liszt Academy, and although he launched his glittering career as a conductor shortly thereafter, he still managed to compose nearly 30 works in the course of his life. Miklós Perényi, a composer himself, is well known for his enthusiasm in rediscovering and presenting previously lost works. The fruits of one such ‘expedition’ are on display this evening.

Presented by

MÁV Symphony Orchestra


HUF 4 500, 5 000, 5 500