The two Hungarians not only played music, they were themselves the music – in every nerve – down to their fingertips.

Adelheid von Schorn on Reményi and Liszt
Dennis Russell Davies & Liszt Academy Symphony Orchestra

24 April 2020, 19.30-22.00

Grand Hall

Masters of the Orchestra

Dennis Russell Davies & Liszt Academy Symphony Orchestra Presented by Liszt Academy


Brahms: Piano Concerto No. 1 in D minor, Op. 15
Bernstein: Symphony No. 2  (‘The Age of Anxiety’)

József Balog, Marcell Vajda (piano)
Liszt Academy Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Dennis Russell Davies

It is now a tradition for members of the Liszt Academy Symphony Orchestra to come on stage under the baton of the most famous Hungarian and foreign conductors. Grammy award-winner Dennis Russell Davies, an enormously innovative and original conductor of our day, returns to the Liszt Academy with a programme of works by Brahms and Bernstein. ▪ The Piano Concerto in D minor by Brahms places considerable intellectual and physical demands on the soloist, and Bernstein’s Symphony No. 2 for piano and orchestra requires no less of the performers either. It takes its name The Age of Anxiety from a poem by Pulitzer Prize-winning artist W. H. Auden. ▪ At the April concert in the Masters of the Orchestra series, in addition to Dennis Russell Davies and instrumental students of the Liszt Academy, the audience can enjoy two fine soloists: József Balog, one of the most versatile pianists of Hungarian music, and Marcell Vajda, looked on as an enormously promising young talent.



Presented by

Liszt Academy Concert Centre


HUF 2 500, 3 300, 4 100, 4 900