Please allow me that, apart from my regrettable ignorance of the Hungarian language, I remain Magyar in my heart and soul from birth to the grave. As a consequence, I earnestly wish to further the progress of Hungarian music.

Liszt to Antal Augusz
Emil Petrovics 90

10 June 2021, 19.30-22.00

Grand Hall

Emil Petrovics 90

Time change

Petrovics: Vörösmarty – Overture, Op. 41
Petrovics: Piano Concerto, Op. 46


Petrovics: Cantata No. 1 (Alone in the Forest), Op. 4
Petrovics: Symphony No. 2, Op. 48

Anna Subedi (soprano), Ádám Balogh (piano)
Kodály Philharmonics Debrecen
Conductor: Zsolt Hamar

“I am not prepared to force myself: I am looking for what is truly me. Music heard in the world only serves to reinforce my determination: with courage and without torturing myself with any feeling of inferiority, I confess I would occasionally like to write common chords in a major key in 4/4 time. […] What is important is that I write what I hear and what I think about music,” Emil Petrovics responded once to a question on artistic standpoint put by Bálint András Varga. The frequently cited quote is a precise characterization of Petrovics’s creative personality. Over the course of his career as a composer, he blended technical solutions from the past 200 years of music history with a kind of classical sense of proportion and craftsmanship. He worked with a professional identity and bequeathed a remarkably consistent oeuvre, as witnessed by this concert programme spanning the years from the first cantata (1956) through the 1993 Vörösmarty overture and the Piano Concerto of six years later right up to the second symphony completed in 2001.



Dear Audience,

The concert announced on 10 June 2021 will be held on 14 September 2021. 

Presented by

Kodály Philharmonic Debrecen, Liszt Academy Concert Centre


HUF 1 500, 2 000, 2 500