The two Hungarians not only played music, they were themselves the music – in every nerve – down to their fingertips.

Adelheid von Schorn on Reményi and Liszt
Izabella Simon & Dénes Várjon

26 September 2018, 19.30-22.00

Grand Hall


Izabella Simon & Dénes Várjon

Schumann: Six Pieces for Pedal Piano, Op. 56 (Debussy arrangement)
Beethoven: Great Fugue, Op. 134


Mahler: Symphony No. 1 (arrangement by Bruno Walter)


Izabella Simon, Dénes Várjon (piano)

Perfect harmony. This is how the play of Izabella Simon and Dénes Várjon comes across to audiences. Through their sensitive interpretations, the artist couple represent that musical concept placing full emphasis on the power of chamber music to shape people and communities, the bases for which they received from musicians such as György Kurtág, Ferenc Rados, András Schiff and Sándor Végh. This recital by Izabella Simon and Dénes Várjon opens with the six pieces for pedal piano written by Schumann, which the composer and his wife put together in the course of combined counterpoint studies for the unusual instrument developed for practicing organ works. Later on, Debussy prepared an arrangement allowing the work to be performed in concert halls in double piano form. Then there is a real curiosity in this concert with Mahler’s Symphony No. 1 in the four-hand arrangement by Bruno Walter who had a close personal relationship with the composer. It evokes the orchestral parts and reveals a new side to the work.

Presented by

Liszt Academy Concert Centre


HUF 1 400, 2 100, 3 500, 4 900, 5 600