2017.09.28 19.00

Solti Hall

Mikhail Mering Clarinet Recital

Competition Winners

Mikhail Mering Clarinet Recital

Winner of the Kovács Béla International Clarinet Competition

Introduction and Rondo, Op. 72
Tchaikovsky–Alexandre Chabod:
Nutcracker Fantasy
Clarinet Sonata in E-flat major, Op.167
Béla Kovács:
Hommage à R. Strauss
Three sketches for clarinet solo (Premiere)
Sonata for Clarinet and Piano, Op. 28
Béla Kovács:
After You, Mr. Gershwin
Mikhail Mering (clarinet) Éva Szalai (piano)

In 2015, after a hiatus of 45 years, an international clarinet competition was organized in Hungary in honour of the four decades of educational work at the Liszt Academy by legendary Kossuth Prize-winner artist Béla Kovács. Two fantastic musicians shared first prize and the special prize offered by the Liszt Academy, which means that one of them can appear on stage. Michael Mering was born in 1991, and recently has been taken on as solo clarinettist with distinguished ensembles. He studied at the Moscow’s Alfred Schnittke State Music Institute and the Versailles Conservatoire; as soloist he has performed with the Russian National Philharmonic Orchestra and Tokyo Symphonics, among others. In 2011 he came out top at a woodwind competition arranged in Moscow, and three years later he came third at the Jacques Lancelot International Clarinet Competition in Japan. The extremely talented young artist will demostrate an exciting and colorful collection from the well-known and also the hardly known works of the clarinet-literature.

Organizer: Liszt Academy Concert Centre

Tickets: HUF 1 200